While on forum remember to keep refreshing page so you can see new info and personal messages

SIR PATRICK MOORE 1923-2012

Norman Lockyer Observatory.

Finally made it to the forum

in Introduction to the group Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:03 pm
by StephenW • 12 Posts

Hello,

I have been to the NLO on many Fridays for the last few months, and now I am finally on the forum.
As a newbie I'm glad I decided to join first and buy kit later - I would certainly have bought some inadequte gear without the advice I have been given.
I am interesting in several areas - visual observation, imaging, and also the science of what is going on out there and how we know that. I'm looking forward to getting my own gear and learning how to use it in the near future.

Stephen

Celestron C6 with HEQ5
Canon EOS 60D

Scroll up

RE: Finally made it to the forum

in Introduction to the group Thu Aug 04, 2011 7:17 pm
by Leonis • 1.252 Posts

Welcome Stephen! Once you are hooked that's it.

Lots of bits. Some useful, some not.
Scroll up

in Introduction to the group Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:40 pm
by revandBellman • 5.101 Posts

Welcome Stephen, look forward to seeing you again soon
Kate

NEQ6 mount, C6 telescope with skywatcher guide scope for moving around with Starlight SXVR H9 main camera and SX auto guider.
Celestron C9.25 and WOZ 72 in dome with atik 460 camera and a Co-star for guiding with alpy for spectroscopy.
MCT5 with SE mount and SXVR MX 916 camera and star analyser for spectroscopy
Scroll up

in Introduction to the group Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:56 am
by Martin-Devon • 210 Posts

Hello Stephen and welcome to the forum. I also alternate between visual observing & imaging and find that this gives the best of both worlds. Look forward to meeting you at the NLO on a Friday night.

Regards,
Martin

Astro-Physics Mach-1, Takahashi FSQ 106, QSI 690, Moravian G4-16000 CCD, Lodestar guider, Astrodon 3nM narrowband and Baader LRGB filters. Astro images on: http://www.flickr.com/photos/martin-astro/
Scroll up